cnp (´・×・`)

Modifier switched to -> Interference
This is something I’ve wanted to correct for a while now and its been bothering me so I decided to change it. I don’t know if this explanation makes much sense, but early on, I regarded this stat as something that interfered with other aspects positively which isn’t wrong in a sense. At that time, I hadn’t read too far into the novel yet, and I had no idea what this stat even entailed. Since personal stats are usually seen in a positive light, I wanted to use a simple easy-to-understand word, so I picked modifier.
However, this is truthfully “off.” This interference strength stat is actually similar to the one used in Mahouka and as I’m reading ahead, I realized that this interference stat is more so seen as negative? I’m not exactly sure on how I could explain this without going into spoilers, but it should’ve been left as “Interference,” even if it was a bit vague since it’s somewhat of a puzzling stat to begin with. Modifier? What is even being modified? Nothing really. Rather, it’s being interfered with. This mistake was just poor word choice on my behalf.
For the most part, I’ve gone through the previous chapters and changed all iterations of it to “interference” so new readers wouldn’t get confused by the sudden alteration. Though I’m using “Interference” by itself to keep the stat screen neat, you can regard it as “interference strength”, or “interference power.” Well, at least with this, I’ve learned that sometimes, literal translations can be better. I don’t think it’s much of a big deal as the story hasn’t gone in depth as to what the stat fully does yet and at the rate of my releases, we shouldn’t be anywhere close to it for a least a month or two. I just wanted to let people know and correct my own mistake before any future chapters are affected.
While I was at it, I also went back to apply the changes I’ve made to the previous chapters, such as the situation with the appraisal loupe. Curse Density is now adjusted to Curse Concentration as well. I figured I should just get this all out of the way in one go while it’s still early in the novel rather than having to rename things further on in the story, both for reader’s sake and my own. I don’t think these edits will greatly impact the general story since its just a matter of word choice, but again, sorry for any confusion and hopefully, this won’t happen very often.

Leave a comment